NY Mets

The New York Mets are a professional baseball team that plays around Queens, New York. The Mets are a member of Major League Baseball (MLB) and compete in the National League in the East Division. The Mets, along with the Yankees, are one of two teams that compete in the New York area. Since 2009, the Mets have played their home games at Citi Field, which is next to the site of where Shea Stadium once was. 

History of the New York Mets

The NY Mets are one of the first expansion teams in the MLB. In 1962, the Mets replaced the New York Giants and Brooklyn Dodgers that bolted for the West Coast. 

Filling the New York Void

After the 1957 season, both the Giants and Dodgers left for California. In the meantime, New York was left without a second franchise for five years until the Mets came to town. William Shea, the founding owner, proposed adding the Mets to an expanded National League. The nickname derived from a natural shorthand to the club’s corporate name, “The New York Metropolitan Baseball Club, Inc.” 

The NY Mets Starting Off

In the beginning, the Mets played their home games at Polo Grounds for two seasons. After that, the Mets moved into Shea Stadium, which was constructed in Flushing, Queens. The Mets played at Citi Field until 2008. From a baseball perspective, the Mets started as a poor team. In their first season, the Mets posted a 40-120 record, which was the most losses since 1899. The franchise passed on future Hall of Famer Reggie Jackson in the draft two years later. Needless to say, it was not a strong start. 

Turning the NY Mets into a Champion

In 1967, the Mets acquired future Hall of Fame pitcher Tom Seaver in the lottery. After that, Seaver helped the 1969 “Miracle Mets” win the National League East title, defeating the Atlanta Braves in the National League Championship Series, and beat the heavily favored Baltimore Orioles in the World Series. During the 1970s, the Mets traded Seaver, which later became known as the “Midnight Massacre.”

The Mets became a title contender in the 1980s. The team drafted Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, and added Keith Hernandez via trade. In 1986, the franchise won the N.L. East with a 108-54 record. In the postseason, the Mets won a dramatic NLCS in six games over the Houston Astros, which included a 16-inning win in Game 6. In the World Series, the team was one strike from losing the World Series to the Boston Red Sox before a series of hits and the famous error by Boston’s Bill Buckner forced a Game 7, which the Mets ultimately won. 

NY Mets Mediocrity & Scandal

The franchise qualified for the World Series in 2000 and 2015, but have had an ugly sequence over the last 35 years. The team has qualified for the playoffs just five times since 1986. In 2012, Mets owner Fred Wilpon and Saul Katz settled a lawsuit against them on behalf of the victims from Bernard Madoff’s Ponzi Scheme. After an eight-year run that finished in mediocrity, Steve Cohen became the majority owner of the team, owning 95% of the team. 

Everything To Know About NY Mets

Down below features all of your need to know information about the New York Mets. 

NY Mets History

The Mets were added to fill the void left by the Giants and Dodgers when each team left for San Francisco and Los Angeles respectively. The franchise is one of the few teams to have started and competed in the same division (N.L. East) since they were founded. 

New York Mets Franchise Management 

The Mets are owned by Steve Cohen, who recently purchased the team in October 2020 from the Wilpon family. The President of the team is Sandy Alderson, while the General Manager is Jared Porter. The manager of the team is Luis Rojas, who was hired in 2020. 


Playoff Appearances: 1969, 1973, 1986, 1988, 1999, 2000, 2006, 2015, 2016

N.L. East Titles: 1969, 1973, 1986, 2006, 2015

N.L. Pennants: 1969, 1973, 1986, 2000, 2015

World Series Championships

The NY Mets have won World Series titles in 1969 and 1986. Altogether, the team has qualified for the World Series five times. 

1969Baltimore Orioles4-1Don Clendenon
1986Boston Red Sox4-3Ray Knight

In 1969, the Mets became the first expansion team to win a World Series title. Moreover, in all four victories, starting baseman Donn Clendenon hit a home run. The pitching staff, headlined by Ed Kranepool, limited the Orioles to a .146 team batting average. After losing Game 1, the Orioles mustered just 17 hits in 127 plate appearances. 

The Mets were a living miracle in 1986. In the World Series, the Mets were down two runs with two outs and nobody on pace in the bottom of the 10th inning of Game 6. Ray Knight was down to his last strike before he singled to left-center. After a couple of hits and wild pitches, the Mets tied the game and Mookie Wilson was at the plate. Next, Wilson put the ball in play, and veteran first baseman Bill Buckner saw the ball roll between his legs. In the end, the Mets won 6-5 and eventually claimed Game 7 and the championship. 

Retired Numbers

The NY Rangers have retired five numbers in their franchise including all of the following: 

  • Gil Hodges (14)
  • Mike Piazza (31)
  • Casey Stengel (37)
  • Tom Seaver (41)
  • Jackie Robinson (42)

How many World Series titles do the NY Mets have?

For now, the Mets won the World Series in 1969 and 1986. 

Who owns the NY Mets?

Steve Cohen became the majority owner (95%) of the Mets in October 2020. 

Who is the manager of the NY Mets?

Luis Rojas was hired in January 2020 after the Mets parted ways with Carlos Beltran for his role in the Houston Astros cheating scandal.