Blue Wrecking Crew-A New York Giants Community

The New York Giants are a professional American football team based in the New York metropolitan area. The franchise competes in the National Football League (NFL), where they share home games with the New York Jets at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Their home stadium is just five miles west of New York City. The team plays in the National Football Conference (NFC) East division, and are the only expansion team from 1925 that remains. 

History of the New York Giants

New York Giants played their first NFL game against All New Britain in New Britain, Connecticut. The franchise finished with their best record of 11-1-1 and an NFL Championship in their third season. However, a disappointing fourth season led to the franchise purchasing the Detroit Wolverines to merge the two teams under the Giant’s name. Since that time, the group has been a fan-favorite in the New York area. 

NY Giants Championship Squads – in the early days

From 1933 to 1946, the NY Giants qualified for the NFL Championship Game eight times, including two titles. During this time, they were led by Hall of Fame coach Steve Owen, as well as Hall of Famers Mel Hein, Red Badgro, and Tuffy Leemans. In 1944, the squad was ranked as the No. 1 defensive team in NFL history that gave up only 7.5 points per game, which is a record that still stands today. 

The franchise did not win another league title until the 1956 season, which was the first year that the team played at Yankee Stadium in the Bronx. Thanks to future Hall of Fame players such as Frank Gifford, Sam Huff, Roosevelt Brown, and Alex Webster, the squad capped the season with their fourth championship. Head coach Jim Lee Howell’s staff included Vince Lombardi coaching the offense, while Tom Landry coached the defense. This group played in the NFL Championship Game five times from 1958 to 1963 but failed to win. 

Giants – A Pillar of Stability

Competing for the Giants in the NFL is never easy, but one squad found a way to carve out at least one Super Bowl per decade over the last 40 years. The 1980s featured the Bill Parcells era and the future Hall of Fame coach did not disappoint during his time from 1983 to 1990. In 1986, the unit finished 14-2 in the regular season and was led by MVP and Defensive Player of the Year Lawrence Taylor. The “Big Blue Wrecking Crew” defense to this day is the best statistical defense throughout a 16-game schedule. Parcells led the team to another Super Bowl in 1990, where the team set an NFL record for fewest turnovers in a season. 

It took about 10 years for the team to be relevant again. While a couple of East Division championships were nice, it wasn’t until 2004 when ownership hired Tom Coughlin and drafted Eli Manning with the No. 1 overall pick. In 2007, the group famously dethroned the New England Patriots who were 18-0 at the time in the Super Bowl. The famous “Manning to Tyree” pass kept the Patriots from winning the Super Bowl. Four years later, the franchise won its fourth Super Bowl title after coming back from halftime. This particular franchise is the only team in NFL history to have more than two second half come from behind Super Bowl victories. 

Giants Facts – You should know!

Down below features all of your need to know information about the New York Giants. 

New York Giants History

New York Giants joined the NFL in 1925. From 1933 to 1949, the franchise participated in the Eastern Division. From 1950 to 1952, the team was a part of the American Conference. In 1953, the Giants joined the Eastern Conference, which lasted until 1969. In 1970, the team joined the National Football Conference, where they have been members of the NFC East ever since. Their home arena as of 2010 is MetLife Arena located in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The team’s colors are blue, red, and white. 

Giants Owner & Franchise Management 

The owners of New York Giants are John Mara (President) and Steve Tisch (Chairman). The General Manager is Dave Gettleman, while the head coach is Joe Judge. The team has gone through numerous home fields. That includes Polo Grounds (1925-1955), Yankee Stadium (1956-1973), Yale Bowl (1973-1974), Shea Stadium (1975), Giants Stadium (1976-2009), and MetLife Stadium (2010-present). 

New York Giants Championships

Giants Playoff Appearances: 1933, 1934, 1935, `1938, 1939, 1941, 1946, 1950, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2016

Giants Divisional Titles: 1933, 1934, 1935, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1944, 1946, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1997, 2000, 2005, 2008, and 2011

Giants Conference Titles: 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1986, 1990, 2000, 2007, and 2011.

Giants League Championships: 1927, 1934, 1938, and 1956.

New York Giants Super Bowl Wins

1986Super Bowl XXIDenver Broncos39-20Pasadena, California
1991Super Bowl XXVBuffalo Bills20-19Tampa Stadium
2007Super Bowl XLIINew England Patriots17-14University of Phoenix Stadium
2011Super Bowl XLVINew England Patriots21-17Lucas Oil Stadium

In 1986, the New York Giants boasted the best defense in the league and marched past the 49ers 49-3 and Washington Redskins 17-0 to make the Super Bowl. Quarterback and eventual Super Bowl MVP Phil Simms led the team in the title game with an 88% completion percentage. Just a few years later, the NY Giants finished 13-3 and defeated the 49ers in the Super Bowl, who were hoping to win their third straight title. 

During the Tom Coughlin years, the team reached the title game twice. In 2007, their win over the Patriots was the third-biggest upset by a betting line in Super Bowl history. In 2011, it took a game-winning field goal from Lawrence Tynes to beat the 49ers and make the Super Bowl. Late in the game, touchdowns from Mario Manningham and Ahmad Bradshaw set up their second win over the Patriots in the title rematch. Eli Manning won both Super Bowl MVPs during this time. 

NY Giants Retired Numbers

The franchise has retired 14 numbers throughout NY Giants history including all of the following: 

  • Ray Flaherty (1)
  • Tuffy Leemans (4)
  • Mel Hein (7)
  • Eli Manning (10)
  • Phil Simms (11)
  • Cuff Ward (14)
  • Y.A. Tittle (14)
  • Frank Gifford (16)
  • Al Blozis (32)
  • Joe Morrison (40)
  • Charlie Conerly (42)
  • Ken Strong (50)
  • Lawrence Taylor (56)
  • Michael Strahan (92)
What year did the New York Giants win the Super Bowl?

The New York Giants have won the Super Bowl 1986, 1991, 2007 and Super Bowl XLVI 2011.

Who the owner of the New York Giants?

Giants Owner is John Mara (President) and Steve Tisch (Chairman)

Who is the Coach of the NY Giants?

Joe Judge is the coach of the NY Giants since 2020