NY Rangers

NY Rangers

The New York Rangers are a professional hockey team that plays in New York City. The Rangers compete in the National Hockey League (NHL) as a member of the Metropolitan Division in the Eastern Conference. The team is one of three NHL teams located in the New York area, the other two being the New Jersey Devils and the New York Islanders. The team places their home games at Madison Square Garden. 

History of the New York Rangers

In the beginning, the Rangers were one of the Original Six teams that competed in the NHL before the 1967 expansion. Early on, the Rangers attained early success under the guidance of Lester Patrick, who coached the first Stanley Cup team of Frank Boucher, Murray Murdoch, and Bill Clock in 1928. 

The Championship Years: A NY Rangers Contender

George Lewis “Tex” Rickard was the former president of Madison Square Garden and was awarded an NHL franchise. Originally, the team was known as the Americans, but given the team’s success, he sought out another NHL team. The new team was quickly nicknamed “Tex’s Rangers.” During the Roaring Twenties, the Rangers became a fixture during the nightlife. In only their second season, the Rangers won the Stanley Cup over the Montreal Maroons. One of the most memorable moments was when Lester Patrik suited up as the team’s goaltender at the age of 44. In the future, the Rangers won another Stanley Cup in 1933 and 1940. 

A Major New York Fallout

After the 1940 Stanley Cup, the NY Rangers collapsed. The franchise lost a game by as much as 15-0 and posted a goals-against an average of 6.20. New York missed the playoffs for five consecutive seasons before qualifying in 1948. The team qualified for the 1950 Stanley Cup Finals but played all of their games on the road in Toronto while the circus was held at Madison Square Garden. They lost to the Detroit Red Wings in seven games. After that, the team was soured in mediocrity through most of the 1950s and 1960s. 

A NY Turnaround

In the meantime, the Rangers qualified for the Stanley Cup Finals two times during the 1970s but lost both times. New York remained competitive through the 1980s and 1990s, making the playoffs each year. The 1993-1994 season was a successful one as Mike Keenan led the Rangers to their first Stanley Cup championship in 54 years. The Rangers clinched the Presidents’ Trophy with the best record in the league by going 52-24-8, setting a franchise record with 112 points earned. 

Everything To Know About NY Rangers

Down below features all of your need to know information about the New York Rangers. 

NY Rangers History

The Rangers are one of the oldest hockey franchises in the history of the NHL. In their storied history, 53 players that have worn a Rangers jersey have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The team has won four Stanley Cup championships, including three Presidents’ Trophies. 

New York Rangers Franchise Management 

The owner of the Rangers is Madison Square Garden Sports. James Dolan serves as the Chairman. The General Managers of the NY Rangers is Jeff Gorton. The head coach is David Quinn. For now, the captain position remains vacant. As for minor league affiliates, the Rangers have the Hartford Wolf Pack (AHL) and the Maine Mariners (ECHL). 


Playoff Appearances: 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1948, 1950, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1962, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

Division Titles: 1927, 1932, 1990, 1992, 1994, 2012, 2015

Conference Titles: 1994, 2014

Presidents’ Trophies: 1992, 1994, 2015

Stanley Cup Championships

When the Rangers were faced with a 54-year title drought, fans thought the organization was cursed. The reason? New York has won just four Stanley Cup titles despite qualifying for the Eastern Conference Finals 24 times. 

1928Montreal Maroons3-2Lester Patrik
1933Toronto Maple Leafs3-1Lester Patrik
1940Toronto Maple Leafs4-2Frank Boucher
1994Vancouver Canucks4-3Mike Keenan

Starting off, in the finals against the Maroons, the Rangers did not have a backup goaltender. That forced the 44-year old Patrick to line up between the two pipes for two periods in Game 2 of the finals. In fact, he allowed one goal, but it didn’t matter as Frank Boucher scored the game-winning goal in overtime for New York. Just five years later, Patrik secured his foot in New York history by leading the Rangers to another championship. 

Next, former player turned coach, Frank Boucher, took over as coach and won another title. In Game 1, the Rangers won in overtime, and then easily took the next games to hold a 2-0 series lead. After the Maple Leafs won the next two games, the Rangers took care of Games 5 & 6 in overtime. 

After a 54-year drought, the Rangers “broke the curse” with some of the wildest 37 seconds of hockey. In the final ticks, there were two clock reviews, which almost took seven minutes of real-time to review. Then, there were three face-offs, as well as a final stoppage with just 1.6 seconds left in the game. In the end, the Rangers took the 3-2 contest and clinched the championship. 

Retired Numbers

The NY Rangers have retired 10 numbers in their franchise including all of the following: 

  • Eddie Giacomin (1)
  • Brian Leetch (2)
  • Harry Howell (3)
  • Rod Gilbert (7)
  • Andy Bathgate (9)
  • Adam Graves (9)
  • Vic Hadfield (11)
  • Mark Messier (11)
  • Jean Ratelle (19)
  • Mike Richter (35)

How many Stanley Cups do the NY Rangers own?

Despite making the Conference Finals 24 times, the Rangers have won the Stanley Cup four times. 

Who owns the NY Rangers?

James Dolan, the owner of the New York Knicks, is the owner of the Rangers. 

Who is the head coach of the NY Rangers?

Since 2018, David Quinn has served as head coach of the team.